2017 Parlophone 1. Introduction; 2. 1984; 3. Rebel Rebel; 4. Moonage Daydream; 5. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise); 6. Changes; 7. Suffragette City; 8. Aladdin Sane; 9. All The Young Dudes; 10. Cracked Actor; 11. Rock'n'Roll With Me; 12. Knock On Wood; 13. It’s Gonna Be Me; 14. Space Oddity; 15. Future Legend/Diamond Dogs; 16. Big Brother/Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family; 17. Time; 18. The Jean Genie; 19. Rock’n’Roll Suicide; 20. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again).
The Young American
“Cracked Actor” Album
Musicians David Bowie – vocals; Mike Garson – piano, Mellotron, music director; Earl Slick – guitar; Carlos Alomar – rhythm guitar; David Sanborn – alto saxophone, flute; Richard Grando – baritone saxophone, flute; Doug Rauch - bass guitar; Greg Errico – drums; Pablo Rosario – percussion; Gui Andrisano – backing vocals; Warren Peace – backing vocals; Ava Cherry – backing vocals; Robin Clark – backing vocals; Anthony Hinton – backing vocals; Diane Sumler – backing vocals; Luther Vandross – backing vocals.
Recorded Los Angeles, Universal Ampitheatre 5 September 1974.
Released 22 April 2017.
Background In 1990 a bootleg appeared titled ‘Strange Fascination’ which contained the full show - including the 10 minute ‘dog’ introduction which set the scene before David and the band came onstage. The recording was of exceptional quality and it was assumed by many to have been recorded by the BBC as part of the ‘Cracked Actor’ documentary. In fact, the recording was made by Wally Heider Recording at the request of MainMan and was then given to the BBC for use on the documentary. It was noticeable on the ‘Strange Fascination’ release that a small part of ‘All The Young Dudes’ was missing near the beginning of the song. This can be explained by how the recording was made and, subsequently, how the tapes were then used for the release. 2 tape recorders were used by Wally Heider - ‘A’ and ‘B’. The tapes on each machine would record until they were full and were then replaced by a new one. However, the start of the recordings were offset between the 2 recorders so that nothing would be lost by the tape changeover. Each machine used 3 tapes. The first tape on machine A ran out near the beginning of ‘All The Young Dudes’ and a new tape was then loaded to continue the recording. This second tape captured the remaining songs until the intermission following ‘It’s Gonna Be Me’. The third tape was then loaded to capture the whole of the second half of the concert.
Details for each of the tapes used by Wally Heider Recording using machine A.
The 3 tapes used by machine A found their way into the hands of a private collector and were then used to produce the ‘Strange Fascination’ release. In 2016 these tapes were reunited with the 3 tapes from machine B and remastered by Tony Visconti for the ‘Cracked Actor’ album.